Band website, how to do it on the cheap?

flybyfender

Band website, how to do it on the cheap?

Postby flybyfender » Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:30 am

Hey guys,

I would like to know if any of you had any past experience about creating & having a band website?

I am not a programmer and I do not want to learn how to code HTML just to create that one website.

Here are the things that we want:
- Our own .com domain
- Servers included, with unlimited transfer
- Unlimited content/songs
- Music player on the website
- Fans can contact us directly on the website

It would be nice if it had Facebook & Twitter integration too.

How much should I be looking to spend for a custom website from a professional webmaster (including the requested features above)? Many people told us between 1,500$ and 3,000$ is the average pricing nowadays, is that true!!!? Do you guys have any suggestions? Is Myspace still good?

Thanks,
F.B.F
Lucas Ives

Re: Band website, how to do it on the cheap?

Postby Lucas Ives » Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:50 am

Quickest and cheapest way is to use blogging software like Wordpress. Peter Erskine just switched his site over to it, check out [url]petererskine.com[/url] to get an idea of what's possible. Also check out the link to my metronome app at the bottom of this message, it's another blog-based site.

As for unlimited transfer, that will depend on the host you go with. I use Dreamhost and have been happy with them.

MySpace is junk.
Last edited by Lucas Ives on Thu Mar 08, 2012 11:58 am, edited 2 times in total.
bstocky

Postby bstocky » Thu Mar 08, 2012 10:20 am

Myspace and Facebook are free/junk. I can't take anyone seriously if that's all they have BUT ya gotta start somewhere. It's ok to look amateur if that's what you are.
matthughen

Postby matthughen » Thu Mar 08, 2012 10:57 am