Here is an Idea

drummer from Kansas

Here is an Idea

Postby drummer from Kansas » Fri Mar 11, 2011 4:55 pm

I am studying and practicing Stick Control and would like it if Hudson Music or Alfred make a DVD about the book.

I just think it would be helpful.
YamahaPlayer

Re: Here is an Idea

Postby YamahaPlayer » Fri Mar 11, 2011 5:06 pm

What would be your question?

The book is about as simple as you can get. Progressively formatted and highly approachable - if not slightly daunting. There are countless videos already online and DVD's demonstrating basic technique and rudiments. Check out VicFirth.com's educational section for instance.
Gaddabout

Postby Gaddabout » Fri Mar 11, 2011 5:53 pm

YamahaPlayer wrote:What would be your question?

The book is about as simple as you can get. Progressively formatted and highly approachable - if not slightly daunting. There are countless videos already online and DVD's demonstrating basic technique and rudiments. Check out VicFirth.com's educational section for instance.

Actually, there's a long tradition of teaching drum set out of the book, too, first started by Alan Dawson I think. It's applications are many, and the book has lived on because of it. There are MANY snare drum books out there, but Stick Control has multi-dimensions because of the unwritten history of drum set application. I know I would love to see someone who studied with Dawson bring this wisdom to popular light. Years ago I read about this history in Modern Drummer and sought out instructors who went through those drills, but could find none in my area.
“Let's try some of my songs.” Dave Grohl, top sign drummer will be fired.
Jim Richman

Postby Jim Richman » Fri Mar 11, 2011 6:06 pm

Joe Morello's methods come from Stick Control. He showed me many things, just like Alan Dawson with Syncopation.
Keith Mansfield rules!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Gaddabout

Postby Gaddabout » Fri Mar 11, 2011 6:08 pm