Looking For a Mentor

rpc

Looking For a Mentor

Postby rpc » Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:00 am

I know it sounds pretty ridiculous, but I'd really like to find a drumming mentor. When I started playing as a kid, I was amazed at the progress I made. And looking back, I can see that it had everything to do with my private instructors. I'm in Los Angeles, so it should be pretty easy to find somebody; maybe even somebody world-class. I learn quickly, I enjoy practicing and I have fairly extreme rudimental chops to draw from. I try to pattern myself after Dave Weckl, Vinnie Colaiuta and Dennis Chambers. I take instruction well and am an eager learner. I don't seem to have any MAJOR shortage of natural ability.

Do any of you guys have recommendations on someone to hook up with in the Los Angeles area? Also, and of equal importance, what area of town is the best to live in for a drummer who wants to meet fusion musicians? My goals are pretty simple; I just want to be in a band, make some music and actualize as much of my potential on the instrument as I can. I work out in Malibu, so I need to stay on the West side, but I'm somewhat flexible with commuting.

Thanks in advance for any help.
YamahaPlayer

Re: Looking For a Mentor

Postby YamahaPlayer » Sat Apr 09, 2011 8:06 am

What direction do you want to take your playing? There's tons of amazing teachers out there, but you really need an idea of where you want to go to start the selection process IMO.
Suspiria

Postby Suspiria » Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:07 pm

Looking for a mentor so soon? I thought your finger was falling off last week.

:|
rpc

Postby rpc » Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:32 pm

Suspiria wrote:Looking for a mentor so soon? I thought your finger was falling off last week.