Assorted videos / YouTube thread

User avatar
Pocketplayer
Posts: 1072
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 5:41 am

Re: Assorted videos / YouTube thread

Postby Pocketplayer » Wed Jul 11, 2018 5:03 pm

Tommy needs to rise to the Mt Rushmore of Rock drummers...endurance factor alone!
This guy is truly amazing if just for conditioning for a guy born in 1950! Are you
kidding me? That was crazy power drumming and Coverdale sounds great as well.
Virg has got to get inspiration from Tommy the beast Aldridge.
Reb Beach on axe...I am IN!
Jeff Porcaro Groove Master
http://jeffporcaro.blogspot.com
User avatar
Morgenthaler
Posts: 886
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 9:59 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Assorted videos / YouTube thread

Postby Morgenthaler » Thu Jul 12, 2018 12:12 am

Pocketplayer wrote:Virg has got to get inspiration from Tommy the beast Aldridge.


You're not the first one to hold that thought. In the words of Bryan Beller:

"Imagine the technical accuracy of Mike Mangini, the off-the-rails phrasing of Vinnie Colaiuta, the beat-displacement of Dave Weckl, and the rock sensibility of Tommy Aldridge, and that's pretty much Virgil Donati—all of it, all at once, all the time"

- https://www.bryanbeller.com/literature/ ... yan40.html
User avatar
Morgenthaler
Posts: 886
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 9:59 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Assorted videos / YouTube thread

Postby Morgenthaler » Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:28 am

Nice grooves and riffs in this one!

User avatar
Rudy_Ment
Posts: 269
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:20 pm

Re: Assorted videos / YouTube thread

Postby Rudy_Ment » Sun Jul 15, 2018 8:33 pm

Crazy tight. Hots up around 4 minutes in.

No drums no life, know drums know life...
User avatar
langmick
Posts: 1120
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 3:38 am

Re: Assorted videos / YouTube thread

Postby langmick » Mon Jul 16, 2018 5:12 pm

Must have been a helluva party.

User avatar
Morgenthaler
Posts: 886
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 9:59 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Assorted videos / YouTube thread

Postby Morgenthaler » Tue Jul 17, 2018 9:56 am

A decent Christopher Walken impersonation:

amoergosum
Posts: 1586
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 9:20 pm

Re: Assorted videos / YouTube thread

Postby amoergosum » Wed Jul 18, 2018 1:15 pm

LOL:

User avatar
Steve Holmes
Site Admin
Posts: 968
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 1:15 am

Re: Assorted videos / YouTube thread

Postby Steve Holmes » Sat Jul 21, 2018 3:00 pm

Check out the cool left hand hat - cool snare placement grooves here:

Return to “Drumming Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 11 guests